Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant Program

Deadline: June 25, 2010
The EECBG Program provides Federal grants to States, units of local government, Indian Tribes, and consortia of these entities to reduce energy use and fossil fuel emissions, and for energy efficiency programs and projects.

This notice advises the public that applications under the Funding Opportunity Announcement (DE-FOA-0000013) for the formula grants of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 is still open and has an amended deadline for applications. If there are any funds remaining upon closure of DE-FOA-0000013 for formula grants to eligible entities, DOE will reallocate the remaining funds consistent with the EECBG statutory formula. The program was established by the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (Pub. L. 110-140; (EISA)).
Generally, the EECBG Program provides for formula grants to States, cities and counties of specified populations, and specified Indian Tribes (collectively referred to as eligible entities). (42 U.S.C. 17153(a)) Entities eligible for a formula grant and their funding allocations are published on DOE’s Web site at The EECBG Program is administered by the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Pub. L. 111-5; ARRA) appropriated $3.2 billion to DOE to implement the program. DOE initially provided $2.741 billion for formula grants from the ARRA appropriations. The distribution was determined using the most recent and accurate population data available, as follows:
* 68 percent to eligible units of local government;
* 28 percent to States through formula grants;
* 2 percent to Indian Tribes through formula grants; and
* 2 percent for competitive grants to ineligible cities, counties, and Indian Tribes. (42 U.S.C. 17153(a); see also 74 FR 17146 (April 15, 2009) available at (
In June 2009, DOE established an appeals process regarding eligibility determinations. (74 FR 30061; June 24, 2009). The deadline for filing appeals regarding eligibility determinations for direct formula grants for units of local government under the EECBG Program was July 24, 2009. Appeals were reviewed and adjudicated by DOE’s Office of Hearings and Appeals (OHA), and decisions were issued from July 23, 2009, through September 15, 2009. Thirty one appeals were granted, six appeals were denied, and one was dismissed. All case decisions are available at For detailed information regarding issues that could be appealed, the process for filing an appeal, and the procedure applicable to adjudicate such appeals, see the notice available at
The total number of eligible entities under the EECBG Program, including entities that successfully appealed, is 2,359; 56 States (including the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Mariana Islands, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa), 1,258 cities and city-equivalents, 471 counties and county-equivalents, and 574 Indian Tribes. Under ARRA, all EECBG Program funds from ARRA must be obligated by DOE by September 30, 2010.
For further information, contact:
Cathy Zoi,
Assistant Secretary, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Johanna Zetterberg
U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Weatherization and Intergovernmental Program, EE-2K
1000 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, DC 20585-0121
(202) 586-8778
Related Resources:
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant Program