Hewlett Foundation Western Conservation Program Grants 2011

Deadline: Rolling
The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation accepts unsolicited letters of inquiry for its Western Conservation Program. The following U.S. states are considered: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming.

Population growth, mining, drilling, clear cutting, and climate change create challenges that can only be countered with new and responsible stewardship. We support four key strategies:
* Protect large open spaces of land
* Restore river flows and conserve areas near rivers and streams
* Reduce fossil fuel development and increase energy efficiency and renewable energy sources
* Build broad-based support for land, water, and energy goals
The Foundation’s grants may be used to support public education, nonpartisan research and analysis, and policy-related activities.
Related Resource:
Western Conservation Program