The Clean Water Act Turns 35

September 19, 2007
Washington, DC
Please join WEF and the Environmental and Energy Study Institute for a Congressional briefing marking the 35th Anniversary of the Clean Water Act (CWA). The briefing will be 10am to 12pm on Capitol Hill. Despite considerable progress in achieving water quality goals envisioned in the Act, data indicate that up to 44% of assessed estuaries and 35% of assessed rivers and streams still suffer from impaired water quality.

While the CWA is considered one of the most successful environmental statues enacted over the past half century, Congress has not revisited its provisions since 1987, and calls for updating the law to address such issues as stormwater and agricultural runoff are growing. What are the challenges facing this landmark statute over the next 35 years and what should Congress do now to meet those challenges? The congressional briefing will focus on this question and address issues like non-point stormwater runoff, emerging sources of pollution, and the role water quality trading might play in achieving the Act’s goals.
Opening Remarks:
The Honorable James L. Oberstar, Chairman, House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee (invited)
* LaJuana Wilcher, Former Secretary, Kentucky Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet, Partner, English, Lucas, Priest & Owsley, LLP (moderator)
* James Connolly, Executive Director, Anacostia Watershed Society
* Andrew Fahlund, Vice President for Conservation, American Rivers
* Marian Orfeo, Director of Planning and Coordination, Massachusetts Water Resource Authority
* Kenneth Reckhow, Professor and Chair of Environmental Sciences and Policy, Nicholas School of Environment and Earth Sciences, Duke University
* Richard Schwer, Senior Consultant, Environmental Engineering, DuPont Company
* Alan Vicory, Executive Director and Chief Engineer, Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission
This briefing is open to the public and no reservations are required. For more information, contact Patricia Sinicropi, WEF Legislative Counsel.